Tags

, ,

I’ve read it everywhere – from weekly magazines, to interviews to philosophical books. Think positively. 

I’m human. I’m bound to have days where I didn’t just get off the wrong side of the bed, I fell off it. The rest of the day follows suit – and I end up getting annoyed and negative, snapping at anyone and everyone for silly reasons.

Then of course, there are days when I feel really, really good. I had a good night’s sleep, I got up well-rested, had a good breakfast, and the rest of the day follows similarly and I really enjoy myself.

I didn’t really know what this was called, but I did notice there was a pattern to how I thought and what I experienced in my surroundings. It was an observation I made over and over again. It’s only about a year ago that I found out that this is called the Law of Attraction (which I’m pretty sure a lot of you have heard of already).

The Law of Attraction states that like attracts like. So if you’re positive, you attract positive, if you’re negative you attract negative.

The Science Behind It (if you’re interested otherwise just skip this section)

There’s no hardcore scientific evidence for this. If you want concrete proof remember that absence of proof is not necessarily proof of absence. It could be that science just hasn’t got there yet, so keep an open mind. It would have saved a lot of heartache had people been open to the idea that the Earth wasn’t flat. 😉

This law can be semi-explained by Quantum Physics (QP) though. In QP, everything is made up of energy, everything has a specific wavelength.  At school-level chemistry, we learn that everything vibrates. This is because everything is made up of atoms and atoms vibrate. The inside of an atom is always in a constant state of motion.

There’s a saying, ‘as above, so below’ – you might have noticed that the inside of an atom, with its electrons, energy levels and nucleus, looks a lot our solar system. Some people have really thought about this and questions become deep and confusing – if we have atoms, are we housing mini solar systems too? Can we control their vibration too? I’ll just leave it at that because I’m not sure either!

solar system, atom

Through the use of QP, it’s said that we are beings of energy and that our thoughts have a frequency. Each energy level corresponds to a frequency. We live in a ‘sea of energy’ so the energy we give out is the energy we attract from this ‘sea of energy’. You can choose what energy you give out, so in essence, you have your pick of lots of different energies from this massive sea.

Back on topic now….

So basically, what you think is what you get. You might have noticed it in your daily life, someone definitely did when they came up with the idiom ‘when it rains, it pours’.

To cultivate a positive mindset you have to think positively. If you always notice the bad side of everything, force yourself to look at the good. Everything has a dual nature; there are two sides to every coin. You can get by, by ignoring the bad, but you can’t get by, by ignoring the good. That’ll just cause misery.

Be grateful for what you have and who you are. Positivity starts with this. Initially, it will be difficult but then it will come naturally and become ingrained. At the end of the day, thinking positively is a habit. As you think positively, you’ll also start talking positively – this is important because speech is an affirmation that leads to actions.

It’s a simple enough step, but easier said than done. This is something that’s developed over time and admittedly, it’s easier if you’re naturally optimistic.

Don’t bottle your feelings – embrace everything, even the negative 

This is very important and works hand in hand with thinking positively – allow yourself to feel your emotions.

I’m not talking about just happiness; I’m talking about feelings like fear, pain, anger, vulnerability, sadness etc. Many people prevent themselves from feeling anything ‘bad’ when they’re trying to think positive. They think they have to completely avoid anything negative.

This is really destructive and detrimental, not to mention unnatural. All you’ll be doing is increasing the pressure in the volcano and you can be sure it’ll erupt one day.

I used to do that a lot. I don’t like feeling vulnerable so I wouldn’t let my feelings come up to the surface. I’d bottle them in for years and they built up. I would feel frustrated; my head would feel heavy and muddled. I used to pretend everything was fine so I felt I couldn’t talk to anyone about it. Eventually, I reached my limit and it wasn’t pretty!

Don’t deny yourself. Allow yourself to feel, your feelings crop up because they’re right for the situation. If you’re angry, there will be a reason for it, acknowledge this anger, and allow yourself to feel. Even if you need 2 days to cool off, give yourself 2 days then become proactive.

 

If you’re the type that needs to take their anger out physically, go get a punching bag and punch the hell out of it (or something similar, just avoid people). If you deal with it emotionally, write, sing, create music, whatever you want. Once that anger has left you, you’ll feel lighter and you’ll think more clearly.

‘Yes, I’m angry, because X did this and it was wrong. I have a right to be angry. But feeling angry will get me nowhere on its own.’  Then come up with a plan of action. I’m still guilty sometimes and refuse what I’m feeling which is never good. I have to force myself to deal with it.

The same goes for any other emotion – acknowledge it, act and move on. Don’t dwell or self-pity!

Conclusion

Be positive! Think positively, speak positively and allow your emotions to surface. I’m not perfect, but I’m much happier now and it just feels good, plain and simple! You’ll attract good opportunities, like-minded people and life just becomes much more pleasant. It all starts with the mind.

‘Nurture your mind with great thoughts, for you will never go any higher than you think’

–  Benjamin Disraeli

