Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Sweet Almond Oil (from now on SAO) is absolutely amazing as a moisturiser. It really softens your skin so this will be great for people with dry skin. It’s also great for people with oily skin (like me). A lot of people shy away from using oils when they have oily skin, but honestly, give it a try. Your skin will be very moisturised so it won’t feel the need to produce extra sebum. There are so many extra benefits to this oil, like:

  • Reducing acne
  • Fading acne scars
  • Plumping wrinkles
  • Slowing down the onset of wrinkles
  • Softening lips
  • Plumping lips
  • Lightening lips
  • Evening out skin tone
  • Unclogging pores
  • Removing makeup
  • Source of Vitamin E which is an excellent antioxidant for your skin
  • Cheap
  • Can usually find it anywhere – not an exclusive product

DSC09828

Reducing Acne, Fading Acne Scars and Unclogging Pores 

I can attest to this personally. If you’ve read my Skin Story, you’ll know that I got really bad acne for 2 years and the pimples themselves were of the really severe variety (pustules). I tried a lot of products to get rid of the acne but nothing was working, in fact, if anything, I kept getting more.

I started using SAO a few months ago and almost overnight, my acne went down, the redness went down and there were no new pustules forming. My skin is now much more even toned and the hyper-pigmentation left over from the acne is fading.  If it weren’t for the marks, my skin would be good enough to go without foundation.

Another thing SAO does is it softens blackheads so they end up coming out on their own really easily. If not on their own, then all it takes is a gentle squeeze. My pores have become unclogged, as I massage the oil into my skin I get sebum plugs on my fingers (ick, I know). My face is really clean, not just looks clean but is actually clean.

Plumping Wrinkles and Delaying Onset of Wrinkles

I recently noticed that I was getting really faint smile lines. On the right side of my face, the line is a bit deep. I’m pretty young so I was a bit concerned! I started massaging SAO into my lines and now they’ve plumped out. (Yay!)

As a preventative measure, I also dab a bit of SAO into the outer corner of my eyes where crow’s feet tend to form. I dab, then gently pull my finger towards my ear (on the same side of my face) smoothing out the oil and massaging it in.

Lip Softener, Plumper and Lightener

Put a little almond oil on your lips before sleeping and then put a little Vaseline over it. In the morning your lips will be extremely soft.  Seriously! It’s like having 2 feathers for lips! I can’t stop touching mine haha.

In addition to having softer lips, your lips will be plumper because of the added moisture.

A lot of people tend to have lips which are dark round the edges, or their top lip is darker than their bottom. That’s usually because of the sun’s UV rays and because we tend to forget about our lips and leave them unprotected. SAO helps lighten them and get them back to their original colour.

Evening out Skin Tone

I’ve been using SAO for months now, my skin tone has definitely evened out and there’s a permanent ‘glow’ to my skin. Like I said, if it wasn’t for those pesky hyper pigmentation marks, I’d be good to go without any foundation.

My hyper-pigmentation marks are also fading much quicker compared to if I’d left them on their own to fade.

Application of SAO

It really is up to you to decide on how to use it and how much of it you need. I usually use about 4 drops for my face and 3 drops for my neck. I pat the oil on first then I do a massage for about 2 minutes which helps in improving blood circulation. It also ensures proper absorption of the oil.

If you really want to go to town with this, or you have a big event coming up, try massaging SAO onto clean skin first then use a normal cream moisturiser (like Nivea Soft) and put that onto your skin over the SAO. Your skin in the morning will be gorgeous – really really glowy. Your makeup will look extra, extra good too!

Some people prefer to put SAO onto slightly damp skin. I’ve yet to try that, but apparently it gives even softer skin so let me know which one is better folks! Dry or slightly damp skin?

You can usually find SAO anywhere but prices do vary. If you get organic SAO, then for about 250 ml, you’ll pay around £8. For the non-organic variety you’ll pay about £3 for the same amount. SAO tends to be cheaper on Amazon than in stores.

I bought mine at Holland and Barrett when they had a 2 for 1 offer on. I paid around £7 for 2 bottles otherwise they’re £7 each which is pretty expensive considering you only get 118 ml (though for some reason it says 200ml on their website). Next time though, I’ll probably order from Amazon because for the same price, I get 250 ml in a bottle and it’s organic!

So there you go, one product does all of that! Though of course, it goes without saying that everyone’s skin is different and you may end up completely hating this. However, the majority of people love SAO so give it a try and tell me how you guys find it.

Till later! xxx

