Tags

, ,

Hey folks!  Welcome to my blog!

This is my first post for Timeless so allow me to inaugurate it by uploading a beauty post. As this blog grows, I’m hoping to expand and write about other topics/interests.

For now though, I thought it would be a good idea to kick off the whole beauty category by giving you a little background on my skin and the trouble it has given me as I leave my teens. 

Background on my Skin

My skin is a combination type – I’d say it’s normal-oily with my cheeks being normal, edging on oily and my T-zone oily. My forehead has recently become very problematic and I have to be really careful with what products I use on it.

Throughout my early and mid-teens, I had very good skin. It was even-toned, soft and smooth. I’d get the odd pimple or blackhead on my nose but that was it. My skin regime at that point was very low maintenance. Here’s an outline:

  • Wash face twice a day using white Dove bar
  • Moisturise with a facial oil
  • Use St Ives Apricot Scrub once a week
  • Use a face mask once a week

As well as being low maintenance, it was also cheap.

So what went wrong?

Around the age of 17, I became very interested in skin care and beauty in general. I started to try lots of new products and skin care methods. Cream cleansers, hot cloth cleansers, oil cleansers, hand-made soaps, herbal soaps, expensive moisturisers, you name it, I’d tried it.

My skin care regime became more elaborate (and expensive!) and more time consuming. I’d assumed it would be worth it because I’d end up with flawless skin.

Wrong.

The whole thing backfired badly.

The more frou-frou my regime became, the worse my skin got. I didn’t get normal spots/pimples – I got those ugly, massive, yellow, pus-filled, painful pustules. My forehead was literally infested with them (sorry for the visual folks).  I never, ever had any acne on my cheeks and suddenly, I started getting pustules all over. Let me tell you, these things are really painful. If I dropped something and bent down to pick it up, the pressure in those pustules would frickin’ hurt.

It may seem silly, but I did get upset at the state of my skin. When you skin is clear, you feel confident. When your skin is clear, you enjoy using makeup. When you have to use makeup to cover up, when makeup becomes more of a necessity, it becomes much less enjoyable.

I couldn’t understand what was going wrong. Even my friends were like, ‘Whoa, you’re getting spotty!’ I couldn’t understand why as I got older, when your skin is supposed to calm down, mine was getting worse. My diet was fine, I had blood tests done and they came out normal. What was it?

My skin was in a terrible state for 2 years.  It got to the point where I was too embarrassed to have my family see me without some sort of cover-up. It only dawned on me a few months ago that it could be my overzealous skin care that was causing all the acne.

What did you do?

I reverted back to my old regime and my skin is thanking me big time. It’s healing now and while I don’t have any more pustules thankfully, I have to deal with hyper-pigmentation marks.  These marks take about 3 months to become unnoticeable – but I’m okay with that, the main point is that they’re going.  A little foundation will take care of it.

My regime is the same as the one I’ve outlined at the beginning of the post except I’m using more natural/organic products now. I’ll include another outline anyway:

  • Wash face twice a day using white Dove bar
  • Moisturise with Sweet Almond Oil
  • Use Ren Facial Scrub once a week
  • Use a face mask once a week – preferably by Lush

It’s simpler, less time consuming and cheaper.  Everyone’s skin is different but my skin is better behaved when I do less to it. Two good things came out of those 2 years of acne: 1) I understand my skin much better and 2) I can relate much more to acne sufferers and understand what they go through to an extent

I’ll go through the products I use in more detail and review them plus a whole lot of other products in future posts. For now though, I’ll stop here!

Till later, folks! xxx

